I liked it so much, I got it again.

I have  begun the transfer of my current ebook collection from my computer to my Kindle. And it’s not happening very smoothly. :(

Either I’m not doing it right (which is entirely possible), or else pdfs on Kindle kinda suck. It pains me to use the word “suck” and “Kindle” in the same sentence. And I’m sure I just messed up my search terms big time with that!

I’m fairly certain that there is some program somewhere that I can use to work around this–but I’m not technically savvy enough to figure that out, nor do I have the patience or time to.

So, I am selecting my favorites from my existing ebook collection and getting them again, in Kindle format. There are a few I’d really like to read again and preferably not on my tiny Netbook screen with the harsh lighting.

The first one to leap from my PC to my Kindle is a novel called Amity by Jeremy D. Brooks.

I had the pleasure of meeting Brooks last year at a writerly event and was able to talk to him about his book. I skimmed the back cover over drinks, but figured as long as he was there, I’d rather have him tell me about it.

Essentially, the hook: “Close your eyes and think of a phrase that describes the most horrible act that you can imagine.” wasn’t specific enough for me. I asked him to elaborate.

Which he did.

And he sold me on it.

Now, I won’t say what exactly he said that sealed the deal, because that will  seriously screw with my search terms.  ;)

What does Brooks do best in Amity?  He manages to horrify me with no help whatsoever from anything supernatural. Yep. No genre tricks up his sleeve–just pure, honest-to-goodness, horror that is MAN.

This is the style of horror that I used to write, but have fallen away from. I’m not really sure why. And I guess it is inspiring to see someone else doing it, and doing it well. Perhaps that’s part of why I enjoyed this book so much.

The horror in Amity snuck up on me. It lingered beneath the surface for most of the book, then WHAM!–hit me hard around 3/4 of the way through. I read the last quarter in one sitting, whole body tense–waiting to see how it’d all come out.

Much of the book is written in chatroom format, which I found really interesting. I am a dialogue heavy kinda girl, so chatspeak is extremely appealing to me. Plus, it also makes this a really quick read–in other words, there’s lots of white space. You can easily read Amity in a weekend. And I recommend that you do.

It’s a screaming deal at Amazon for your Kindle, and available in paperback or other e-formats as well.

Now, if Brooks would just get a hustle on that next project of his…

Earlier this year, over on his blog, he promises something darker and edgier, something that will take what he explores in Amity and go deeper. For as dark as Amity gets, I do think he can go darker. And I can’t wait.

4 thoughts on “I liked it so much, I got it again.

  1. I’m so glad you liked it…and thanks for the write-up!

    I went the opposite direction as you–I started out writing supernatural horror, but I found that the things that really scare me in literature and in real life are the things that can really happen, and, in a lot of cases, are happening all around us if you look in the right (wrong) places.

    And, yes…the follow-up to Amity will be darker, I think. I didn’t really explore the underground plumbing of sudo’s website, the basement that lies underneath Amity, the dark, rotting places where not even the lepers from rainbow like to go. There are people down there whose minds I really don’t want to look into, but I think I should make myself do it. I’m hoping to release that maybe Q2 or Q3 of next year.

    Cheers!

  2. Pingback: Soapy’s Blog « Jeremy D Brooks

  3. Sounds like my cuppa, soaps, and it’s now on my to read list. Thanks for the rec! I truly think man is more terrifying than anything supernatural.

  4. Worse than rainbow? *shudders* Sounds sweet, Jeremy.

    Diane–awesome! Hope it makes it up that list of yours quickly. Let’s talk after your done. I’d be interested to know what you think.

    Oh, and best line ever from Amity: >>anonymous: this is relevant to my interests, please continue

    I laughed out loud while I was reading–no really–people stared at me.

Leave a Reply

