Language Barriers

I made friends this weekend.  Three, actually.  Why is this important?  Because it doesn’t happen very often or very easily for me.  And not usually in groups of three.

Not because I’m unlikable–er–at least I don’t think I’m unlikable.  I rather like myself…

It’s a stupid choice I make to not befriend people.  I expect very little from my friends.  And  in return, I give very little.  And this seems to be a problem for most women, I’ve found.

Anyway, what was I saying?   Oh yeah…I made some new friends.

One of them has been trying to friend-seduce me for almost two years and I finally gave up and let her. The other two are friends of hers.

Now the interesting part of all of this (besides the sheer miracle that I broke down and allowed myself to make friends) is that none of them are from this country originally.  English isn’t their first language.

And I noticed today that this is a pattern for me.

I think I take an odd sort of comfort in language barriers.

(that’s a picture up there signifying a barrier  btw, in case anyone is confused. lol It was hard to find clip art that matched)

Perhaps it’s because I enjoy sharing a silence with someone and a language barrier makes this a little easier.

I have a hard time understanding people in general (not speech wise, I mean the nature of people) and if I can blame it on cultural differences then I guess it’s easier to deal with.

Is it weird that I like conversing with people who speak broken English and say a lot of “how you say…” intros to things?

Or that I like it even MORE when they talk over me in their language, to one another, pausing only every once in a while to translate something for me–just to keep me looped in, but only in a minimal way.

I don’t know exactly what it is I’m getting at here…it’s just something I observed and thought I’d share.

3 thoughts on “Language Barriers

  1. Hmm, is it that you just don’t really want to be around people in general? I experienced that myself for a brief period.

    When you further your writing journey, you’re going to be talking a lot. 😉

  2. Thanks, Kara! I guess this is as good a place as any to park my self observations, huh? lol

    Tyhitia–I like to people *watch*. Does that count as being around people? 😉

    And I like the bit about furthering my writing career 🙂 But I’m seriously thinking about contracting out my public speaking. lol Maybe I can pick someone younger and prettier too. Oooh…now I’m *really* considering this. 😉

    Juuust kidding. 😉

Leave a Reply

