My Monthly Write1Sub1 Report: I’m a March Martian

Well, another month down. I subbed my Sub1 early on in the month and it was accepted. 😀 That was the one from my last post.

My Write1 was a story that I’d actually conceptualized last year. It just never launched. So–I dug up the old idea and started anew with it. Outlined this one and had a heck of a time with it. My outlines leave a lot of wiggle room. Sometimes too much. 😉

I even ended up with a character I hadn’t intended to have. I went back and forth on whether he was necessary or not, and in the end, he just refused to be cut. Which was good, I guess, he ended up being vital to the ending.

It stands at 8, 252 words and there are spots that have to be developed more in a second draft. But that’s a later sort of thing…I have to distance myself from this a bit before I attack it like that.  I imagine that a final, final version will hit the 10k mark.

10 thoughts on “My Monthly Write1Sub1 Report: I’m a March Martian

  1. “He just refused to be cut” — that’s when you know you’ve got a character worth keeping, and maybe even worthy of his/her own story! Congrats on the acceptance, and good work meeting your W1S1 goals this month.

  2. @Milo LOL Yeah, I even tried to send him to Samuel 😛 But he got lost and ended up back on my steps, and back in the story. Stubborn cowboy.

  3. Thanks my Martian brothers and sisters! And, yeah, I’m considering pushing it to novella length….eventually 😉

Leave a Reply

