More weird things…

Ever see something mundane (or see something and mistake it for something else) that prompts a story idea? Aren’t those moments great?ย  *sigh*

Something that, on its own, is just kind of odd. Yet, for some reason it just strikes you and sticks with you and demands to be written into something bigger and more meaningful.

This happens to me often. Sometimes when I listen to the side effects lists in pharmaceutical commercials ๐Ÿ˜‰ Or when I read the warning labels of certain products.

Well, today it happened to me again. This time at the grocery store in the “water” isle. Yes. The WATER isle. It still boggles my mind that we have an entire isle devoted to buying…water. But, that’s a rant for another day.

Today the weird thing that caught my attention was a little thing called: Joint Juice.

Now, I know what it’s for, but damn if a title like that doesn’t just bring out the grossest, most evil story ideas >:) As soon as I saw it, I swear my fingers literally twitched–desperate to be at the keyboard pounding out…well, something…I don’t know what yet ๐Ÿ˜‰

Your turn.

Share your weird story inspiring things below, if you like ๐Ÿ™‚

10 thoughts on “More weird things…

  1. Just the other day in a thread at AW about a family burying a body on their property, a comment was made that gave me an idea I needed to finish a story I’ve been thinking about off and on for over 10 years. I still have to write it, but now I know a key plot point that I never quite had pinned down before, all because of one person faulty knowledge of plant photosynthesis and DNA.

    I read the remark (which was so factually wrong it made me laugh) and then realized, BINGO!

  2. By the way, I hope to get to read whatever story comes from the Joint Juice inspiration. I’m cringing already! ๐Ÿ™‚ What a name for a product.

  3. Inspiration and story solutions can come from the funniest sources. LOL Yeah, my joint juice story promises to be icky. ๐Ÿ˜‰ Now..to just wrap a plot around it…

  4. LOL. I’ve seen Joint Juice before in a can, no less. LOL. I laughed at the name. Things like that do give me ideas. The weirdest things. Even people. I often wonder where they are going and what if they did….fill in the blanks.

    I love those moments! ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. In a can! Ha! Apparently it comes in a couple of different…*gags a little*…flavors.

    Yes, filling in the blanks for people you see can be very entertaining and inspiring. I LOVE to people watch.

  6. Joint juice — can’t wait to read your take on it! As for me, recently there have been cases of birds dropping dead out of the sky for no apparent reason, and that inspired my story “Abomination’s Desolation” (currently making the submission rounds). I like to follow “weird news” stories/websites, as they’re always full of great material. Case in point: the New Zealand woman who suffered paralysis after a massive hickey. Ewww.

  7. Birds dropping from the sky? Heck yeah, that’d give me inspiration. YIKES! Good luck placing the story, Milo. I can’t wait to read it ๐Ÿ˜€ And you MUST share the linky on the paralyzed-by-hickey story. LOL

  8. I kept passing a turn-off with a sign for Hungry Hollow Road. Every time I did, I kept thinking “what a weird name, there must be a story behind it.” No one knew if there was a story behind it. So I wrote one. Sold it, too.

  9. Hungry Hollow, huh? Sounds like my stomach right now. LOL That is a creepy name. *shudders* Congrats on the sale! *waits for link* ๐Ÿ˜‰

  10. Pingback: The Feminist Lean « Girl in the Soap Dish

Leave a Reply

