I Caved. Yes, I got a Kindle…

…and I have to admit, I LOVE it.

I resisted for years, whining about how I’d miss my paper books–the smell, the feel. The ability to write in the margins.

And what about the expense? I don’t usually buy books, I check them out at the library mostly, or purchase them used, if I do buy them. And ebooks? Well, I just read them on my computer. So, just how would this Kindle thing fit into my life? Clearly I was getting along just fine with out it, right?

But that was then.

This is now.

Now that I have one…

The look and feel is much like a book, surprisingly so. And, it turns out that I can still make notes–neat little digital ones that I can track and organize even easier than when I actually write them in the margins of my paper books. They’re even downloadable to my computer (I think) though I haven’t tried yet.

Plus, rumor has it that it’ll be compatible with our library system in late 2011. I am more than a little impatient about that, as you can imagine. 😀

More fabulous functionality…

How about being able to hold a large collection of books on one tiny little device? If you read one of my past posts about hiding away all my books when company comes, this will make more sense. Yeah, soooo much more practical for that, a real space saver. 😉

And the book jacket is always the same which means two things:

  1. FINALLY I can read at the park or in the lobby of the doctor’s office, or on vacation with family, and not have to worry about annoying people who want to “talk” about how they’ve read the book too.
  2. Also, if I want to read something called *cough*Slug Orgy*cough* I can, without all the judgy looks.  (BTW, there is NO mystery in that title. At. All. And the sample I downloaded at first, was very, very misleading. Really.)

But I think one of my favorite features, so far, is the ability to read samples of books before I buy them. I rarely get the chance to really browse books at the library or bookstore, so being able to check out a sample and see if I like it before I buy it, is extremely valuable to me.

Still playing with it. And of course I’m spending more time browsing the Kindle store than I am actually reading books LOL. I think I’ve mentioned before how I don’t think I’m OCD…yeah, well…let’s just say, I have to check out everything, before I choose anything.

8 thoughts on “I Caved. Yes, I got a Kindle…

  1. I thought I’d hate it, but I lo-o-ove mine…But I’m yet to meet a single person who has actually tried one and said “yeah, that’s crap”. The text just looks so good, and it’s so convenient. I won’t take it camping or to the beach, but I have stacks of paperbacks for that purpose.

  2. Well, as I do *not* (and I cannot stress that enough) like camping, that won’t be a problem. And since we have yet to get enough sun here to go to the beach, that also won’t be a problem. LOL At least for now.

    Though, I have to say, one of my arguments against the Kindle at first was…”What about when I want to read while taking a bath?” And my husband was kind enough to point out that the last time I read in the bathtub was before we had children. 😉 Something like near a decade ago. Oh, and he also pointed out that we no longer *have* a bathtub *eyeroll* Technicalities.

  3. You know what will probably put me over the edge? The ability to subscribe to places like Asimov’s and have them just sent electronically. I use the Kindle app on my PC, but those subscriptions only work with the actual Kindle device.

    I hope you enjoy it! You won’t have people stopping to discuss the book you’re reading, but i wonder how many will say, “Hey, is that there one of them things?”

  4. Come over to the dark side, Shelley…come on…you know you want to. >:)

    I haven’t done any of the subscription services yet. But I have seen them. And yeah, I expect the “ooh, is that a Kindle?” kind. Not sure yet how I’m going to deal with that. Great. New things to stress about LOL

  5. Oh, I know about your little addiction. 😉 Your blog had me ROTF when your husband broke in for a little intervention in the comments.

  6. Soap,

    I haven’t caved yet. I just don’t know. I may like the Kindle or the Nook, but I don’t feel anything can replace my books, even if I get one. I buy A LOT of books. My shelves are overrun at the moment. LOL.

Leave a Reply

