The Machineries of Joy: July Write1Sub1 Report

Another month down in the 2011 Write1Sub1 challenge. Per my usual, my Sub1 went out early on. Still waiting on a response.

But that’s the boring part of  my monthly progress…

My Write1 this month, currently titled Botan, took me all month to write (pretty typical for me).  But, man–when I was done, I was pretty dang proud of myself.

The prose needs some SERIOUS polishing. To be honest, most of it is still chicken scratch on paper. It has yet to make it to the computer. No matter, though, the rough draft is done and that’s what I set out to do–get Botan and her crazy story out of my head and down on paper.

The genre for this one? Hmm…that’s a toughie. It’s part horror, part fantasy–with a literary, feminist and erotic bent. That’s pretty clear, isn’t it? 😉

It is part James and the Giant Peach, part Anansi the Spider, part Girl, Interrupted (I even have a character named Daisy in it!).

Oh–and did I mention it’s based on the dichotomies of Japanese culture: the ura/omote (front/back) and the uchi/soto (insider/outsider) as it applies to women and their role as child bearers?  And that it takes place entirely in a garden?

Leave it to me to wickedly overcomplicate something 😛

This story has been inside of me for something like 10-15 years. I’ve attempted to capture it a few times, but never got the characters or the plot right. I think this time I finally did.

From Girl, Interrupted: How am I supposed to recover when I don’t even understand my disease?

>:)

6 thoughts on “The Machineries of Joy: July Write1Sub1 Report

  1. Wow, sounds interesting, Soap. 🙂

    I have had stories in me for years as well because I haven’t been able to write them the way I want to. Good job.

  2. That sounds fascinating–I would definitely read it! I don’t know if you’ve picked up yet on my obsession with most things Japanese, but I’d love to read more about gender roles and expectations within that culture.

  3. That sounds like an awesome story. (James and the Giant Peach was my favorite book when I was a kid. I still adore it, and most everything by Dahl.) And congrats on hitting your July W1S1 goal!

  4. Thanks, everyone!

    Laurel, no, I had not picked up on our shared interest. Very cool! Been a passion of mine since I was a kid, and I don’t have enough people in my life to talk to about it. Most of them get all glossy-eyed and bored when I bring it up 😛 Btw, see my post on lunch boxes 😉

    Glad I got you all interested. With as eclectic as it is, I think there’s something in it for everyone. LOL Should I get this story whipped into shape, I will try and sell it.

Leave a Reply

