Write1Sub1 September Report: Pillar of Fire

Man, I sure felt like I was on fire in September! I got quite a bit done, I think. Including, not one, but two subs out! (I thought it was three, but I just checked my sub tracker and one technically fell in August.) Anyway, I hit up Gloaming with a little second person piece and Leodegraunce with something angry, since that was the theme this round.

Got my rejection from Leodegraunce yesterday. Not surprised, though, I think I was up against a lot of stiff competition for that one.

But, I’m starting to get a little restless. Haven’t sold a story since January, so this month I also spent a good deal of time revising some previous W1S1 stories that I hope to submit in October.

My Write1 for September was a response to a prompt about “horror in the workplace”. Which I equated to a story about Facebook 😉  Don’t ask me how that happened.

I enjoyed writing it >:) and so far feedback has been good. However, it came out a little more like light fantasy. Er…well, “light”, as in, I didn’t get too into the details of the fantasy world. Finding a market for it is going to be a challenge, I think.

But I can’t think of a more fun way to spend my Sunday morning! Off to Duotrope now!

6 thoughts on “Write1Sub1 September Report: Pillar of Fire

  1. There’s a pretty healthy market for fantasy, if your workplace story doesn’t fit in the horror genre. I love Duotrope! I’ve been hanging out there today, too.

  2. Stopping in to congratulate you on a successful W1S1 September challenge. Remember, the rejections only make us stronger. Just keep writing and submitting, and if you need to vent, W1S1 is here to listen to your frustrations. Trust me, we’ve all shared them.

    Best of luck in October!

  3. Thanks for the support, everyone!

    Diane–I think I saw you over at Duotrope. Did you see me? I was the one in the bathrobe with the coffee stains. 🙂

    Stephanie–thank you, I may do a little whining in the W1S1 group here pretty soon.

Leave a Reply

