Write1Sub1: My Big Finish

It’s December 31, and you know what that means?  I have completed my 2011 Write1Sub1 short story challenge! What an amazingly productive year writing wise.

My big finish was actually a tiny story. It was both my Write1 and my Sub1 for the month, a microfiction story called Withdrawal.

To recap what Write1Sub1 is…not sure I ever really did a good job explaining it before…it’s basically a challenge that you set for yourself where you write a story, and submit a story, once a month or week. But it’s malleable. Some people set the goal of writing and submitting two per  month or week, for example. And if you get ahead one month, you can slack off the following month 😉  Er—that might just be my rule.

Actually, I joke, because I didn’t do that. Even when I got ahead, and wrote an extra story in one month, it just felt wrong counting it as my Write1 for the next month.  I insisted on writing a new one in the following month, too.

However, I had nothing against resubbing a rejected story from one month to the next, and counting it as my new Sub1. *shrug* It appears that I do like bending the rules…just inconsistently.

I also seemed to have no issue taking a fail-to-launch story from 2010 and rewriting it as new in 2011. Especially early on in the year when I didn’t have a lot of new ideas.

Again. Malleable rules. 😉

Unfortunately, I didn’t sell any of my stories from Write1Sub1 this year, despite the increase in production. In fact, I only had two story sales this year period. The first had been subbed in 2010 and the other was a reprint. So, they don’t really count.

But maybe 2012 will be my productive selling year. *crosses fingers*

I want to take a minute to thank all my Write1Sub1 buddies–you guys have been great at keeping me motivated. Just being held accountable to a group kept me going during the months when I wanted to pull out. And I met some of my most favorite betas through Write1Sub1, too.

If it weren’t for Milo, Simon and Stephen who kicked this all off, I wouldn’t be here today. Thank you for all that you’ve done and you continue to do for the writing community. By the way, they are continuing the challenge for 2012, for those of you are interested. They are calling it: Write1Sub1 RELOADED. More details on the Write1Sub1 Blog.

Special thanks to Shelley, Alex and Victoria–you guys rock. Your (sometimes) brutal honesty balanced with encouragement has been priceless. I feel very fortunate to have had you on my team.

And a BIG thanks to the guy who lured me into the whole thing with the promise of sushi. 😉 Which, for cyber-sushi, wasn’t half bad. What was even better, though, was his continued support and cheer leading. Not just for me, but for everyone who was participating. He was always there with encouraging words. For all of us.

Oh, and besides the cheer leading? I was also fortunate to score a copy of his new ezine Comets and Criminals from him. If you haven’t read it, check it out. There are some truly beautiful and haunting stories in the first issue. I can only imagine that the second issue will deliver the same or better. Thank you, Samuel, for pulling me into this. It’s been a great year!

Last, but certainly not least, (this is starting to feel like an award ceremony) I want to thank my husband for being the sounding board for all my crazy ideas. And for being my first beta for everything (in other words, the one who is supposed to tell me if what I’ve written should never, EVER be shown to anyone, before I mistakenly flip it to other betas and horribly embarrass myself. ;)) And also for never, EVER telling me that.

And thanks to my kids for being such good sports all the times I waved them away, telling them to leave me alone while I was writing. I’m gonna be better about that this year. I promise. Well…at least nice. 🙂

Happy New Year, everyone!

8 thoughts on “Write1Sub1: My Big Finish

  1. A very productive year, soapy. Well done! I think this time next year you’ll be telling us that you sold all those stories. Have a faboo 2012, dear friend!

Leave a Reply

