New Story Up at Nanoism

That story I was talking about in my last post? The microfiction story that was my (little) Big Finish to my 2011 Write1Sub1 challenge–well, I SOLD IT!

I titled it Withdrawal (for my own purposes, but Nanoism doesn’t publish titles.

It’s funny because, when I wrote the story, it was longer than 140 characters. That’s what Nanoism, a Twitter-fiction publication, dictates. It had a very specific plot, too. As I condensed it, to fit the requirement of the publication, I took away words, changed words, and added other words. It was a little like working a Rubik’s Cube until everything lined up just…so.

In the end, the story turned out much broader and more open to interpretation. There are only two characters, and one is only talked about. Substitute any combination of people into the two roles and the story takes on a slightly different meaning. My husband I a have already played around with 3 variations tonight. It’s been fun.

I was really happy with it and am very excited to be appearing at Nanoism.

You can find the story here.

6 thoughts on “New Story Up at Nanoism

  1. Heh–nearly half of my published work is microfiction. I must be doing something right. 🙂 Though, this does make the novel a little more intimidating…

Leave a Reply

