February is Women in Horror Month

In honor of Women in Horror Month I bring you four fierce female writers and their four fierce female leads. (don’t try saying that three times fast, I couldn’t even say it once.)

Got a day all to yourself?

Come Closer by Sara Gran

Meet  Amanda. Amanda has a problem, a big problem. She is possessed. And her demon is going to tear her job, her marriage, and her life apart.

This short novel became an instant favorite of mine last year. I consumed it in one long afternoon that stretched into evening. My son and I had a “read-in” in the living room and at one point he looked up from his book and exclaimed “Mom! Are you even reading the pages?” I was turning them so furiously.  Come Closer has a contemporary voice and setting, which I love, but it deals with ancient demons and biblical figures (I’ll say no more, don’t want to spoil it).

Got a weekend or short vacation?

Ghost Shadow by Heather Graham (part one of a trilogy)

Meet Katie. She’s spunky. She’s smart. She possesses way more maturity than any twenty-something realistically should posses. Or at least more than I did at her age. LOL Pretty standard, I think,  for a book that is more on the paranormal/mystery/romance side of things. This book probably won’t scare you, or leave you feeling twisty and icky, like some. But it does entertain with some fun haunting tropes from the South.

What I liked about this book, besides Katie, was the tightly crafted plot, the well thought out twists and turns, and the fast pace. There’s even a history lesson on Key West woven into it all. Of course there’s also  ghosts, evil dolls, pirates and…karaoke. 😉  A fun, fun read.

In sips…

The Banishing by Fiona Dodwell

I was lucky enough to win this book in a contest on Dodwell’s blog. I scared the pants off her with a retelling of my favorite urban legend and the book was my prize. Similar to Come Closer, this book deals with possession, too, but with a little twist.

Meet Melissa. She’s not the wicked one in this novel, oh no—it’s her husband. And Melissa is going to find out what is going on with him and stop it—one way or another. Her marriage and her life depend on it.

I read this one slowly. Melissa became the friend I’d join for coffee and catch up with once a week. Her story unfolded as I got to know her. There were times I wanted to bop her, when we’d get together and she’d fill me in on the latest with dear husband. And there were times when I was so caught up in what she was telling me, I just hated to put the book down.  Best of all? I never—EVER—saw the ending coming. 😉

Last, but certainly not least, my favorite recommended read…

Fledgling by Octavia Butler.

I read this one over the course of three days. The setting/story world was so beautifully constructed, the characters so complex. I savored every moment, not wanting it to end.

Meet Shori a 53-year-old female vampire with the face and body of a child. Not that that stops her from getting around. Shori is one of the most sensual female leads of all the MCs I’ve mentioned so far in this post. She’s strong, physically and mentally. She’s smart. And she’s…an amnesiac? Butler’s interpretation of vampirism is rich and beautiful.

I have such a love-hate relationship with Butler. Okay, not really love-hate. It’s just that, on more than one occasion, I’ve had an idea for a story and later found out that Butler has beat me to it! Not only that, but she’s done it so wonderfully that I am tempted to throw in the towel. I cope with this by telling myself “great minds”, right? 😉  Jokes aside, she’s a source of  great inspiration for me, she sets the bar high challenging me to meet it one day.

More bloggers talking about women in horror here…

Glitter and Gore

Damien Walters Grintalis

Flying With Broken Wings

Diane Dooley

Brittany Maresh

Homage to Women of Horror

6 thoughts on “February is Women in Horror Month

  1. Ah, some great recommendations, Soapdish. I can’t wait to hunt these down and read them. Thanks for sharing your insight and thoughts on these books. 🙂

  2. Updated with links now! Duh, should have included those before. Hope you enjoy one or more of them, Tracy.

  3. lol! I wasn’t hinting that you had no links to find them. It’s just that I would rather have paperback books. So I meant hunt them down at the brick and mortar sites rather than the web. 😉 I’m sure having links to them is a good thing, though. 🙂

  4. Why haven’t I read Fledging? I love Octavia Butler. Must do something about this as soon as possible!

    I HAVE read Fiona Dodwell’s The Banishing. I had the same reaction as you. I wanted to reach out and shake some sense into Melissa throughout. Up until that ending. Great twist!

    Thanks for the recommendations on the other two.

  5. @Tracy LOL, Actually, those were two unrelated thoughts before. The “duh for not posting” and the “hope you enjoy them”.

    @Diane Go. Now. Get. Fledgling. Seriously.

  6. Pingback: Celebrating Women in Horror Month: Links of Burning Love | Diane Dooley

Leave a Reply

